Tips on vertical jigging

If you fish offshore it's a must have technique in your arsenal. I've been fishing for over 25 years, but jigging is new to me. There are tons of ppl that I have gone fishing with that are new to the sport both kayaking and fishing offshore. Lessons learned over time are so valuable. Me for instance I was using 5 feet of 60 pound floro, which is way to heavy while jigging for Bfts and too short. So any tid bit of information you guys from the forum would be so awesome and most helpful to ppl getting into the sport.

Replies

• jcanracerjcanracer Posts: 4,333 Moderator
    Cannible wrote: »
    Me for instance I was using 5 feet of 60 pound flouro, which is way to heavy while jigging for Bfts and too short.
    Not necessarily true. Many different anglers will have different approaches to the terminal tackle. I typically use 3ft of 60#Flouro leader. But many look down on my use of swivels to allow me to change lures quickly offshore, so take my advice with an ounce of salt :banana

I think the best advice I was given, is to use as light of a jig weight as it takes to get to the bottom, and only go heavier if the current is preventing this. So I sometimes start with a 100gram jig (3.5oz) and go to 150 gram (5.3oz) as needed. The bigger 7oz jigs are a workout, but sometimes needed if you find yourself out deeper than 300' and the current is still taking your 5oz jig sideways.

Secondly, some jigs produce better (or attract certain species) when jigged at different speeds, but the most important thing is to have a consistent cadence when jigging. Settle into the rhythm and commit to it, you won't catch much if you get tired and let the jig dangle in between bursts of tired retrieves.
    Hobie Kayak angler for life!
  • CannibleCannible Posts: 358 Officer