Home General Freshwater Fishing

Lake Tarpon Advice West Central

Hey everyone,
So i took the yak out in a freshwater lake for the first time 2 weekends ago. I caught a couple decent bass, and i gotta be honest, I'm hooked on bass. With that being said, i am very new to freshwater fishing, have always been a saltwater guy.

I live about 10 minutes from one of the best freshwater lakes in the State, Lake Tarpon. Now it is much larger than the lake i took the yak out one 2 weeks ago. So I'm looking for any pointers that anyone can offer up.

Spots, things to look for, tackle.

Let me say, i fully understand the best way to learn a body of water is to get out and fish it. That is what i plan on doing, but being in a kayak, the ability to cover alot of water and fish different applications isn't always the easiest thing.

With it being in the dog days of summer, i plan on fishing docks, weeds, pads, things of that nature. Or throwing a crankbait into deeper water. All while trying to stay out of heavy boat traffic.

So anyone that can give me some guidance would be awesome.
1. Where is a good spot to launch?
2. Essential tackle to bring and where to use it
3. Basic things to look for that could hold fish this time of the year?

Or if you plan on fishing the lake in the next couple weeks (on the weekend) that would be great to meet up.

Thanks guys, your insight is much appreciated. Look forward to getting out there!

Replies

• capt louiecapt louie citrus countyPosts: 10,162 Moderator
    Guess you launched at Anderson park. There is another park on the SE end I've seen but don't know the name of.
    Tarpon has good fish and the idle markers around the lake will keep you from getting buzzed near the shore.
    It's getting to be shad time there. The fish will key on them big time so lipless crankbaits and the like will catch plenty of fish especially if you find them schooling. Keep an eye on the birds.