First Post, 4 different reports from this past week out of PE

Hey guys my name's Clay. I'm new to the Florida Sportsman community and this is my first post. I've been offshore 4 times in the past 7 days and have caught a variety of fish so I'll go through them day by day.

7/26

Put out the spread at 645 AM and trolled in the shape of an S from 90 to 250 feet. Kept the lines out for 3 hours without even a single hit so we pulled them in and ran offshore looking for dolphin. We got about 10 miles out and ran across a big, 8-foot long log floating in the water. When we passed it I didn't see any dolphin but i did see lots of bait and a couple tripletail underneath it. I messed around for about 20 minutes trying to free gaff one of the tripletail (I've successfully done so previously) and the dolphin show up. They were about 20 of them and they were larger than the typical schoolies. Although they were being picky we managed to catch 3 of them on whole dead sardines before calling it a day.

7/28

At 630AM we started our 25 mile run straight east out of PE looking for dolphin. Found birds diving but could not get on the fish before they (and the birds) were moving. There was no weed or floating debris to be found. After a couple hours of running and gunning (and not succeeding) I noticed a potential deepdrop spot that looked promising on our fishing charts. Since we weren't catching fish we decided to give the potential spot a drop. On the first drop the bait hit the bottom and the rod immediately bent over. We ended up pulling up a 23 pound barrel fish from 1200'. We dropped three more times after that and got a 15-25 pound barrelfish on each drop. Quite the turn around for the day. After we pulled up the 4th barrelfish the storms started closing in on us and we called it a day.

8/1