New To Fly Fishing . Need Help For 1st Fly Rod Reel Combo !

jaredman1000jaredman1000 Posts: 196 Officer
Hi im new to the world of fly fishing . Im a really good inshore fishermen for snook , trout ,ect. with spinning tackle I thought I Would try something new because I see sick videos of fly snook fishing on youtube . Now I do have some back round experience of fly fishing in the back yard with those Wal-Mart Combos that only cast 5 feet for baby bass . I know im looking for a 8 weight fly rod but I want some that can cast a fly a long ways ! Also I have no idea what kinda line and reel I should get . please help !

Thanks ,Tight Lines:fishing
Native WaterCraft Redfish 14

Replies

• jaredman1000jaredman1000 Posts: 196 Officer
    Also my price range is $200
  • Ol'DirtyCasterOl'DirtyCaster Posts: 2,322 Captain
    Redington path 8wt combo. Comes with line & backing.
  • jaredman1000jaredman1000 Posts: 196 Officer
    Can I cast this more then 20 feet ?

Redington path 8wt combo. Comes with line & backing.
  • twirptwirp Posts: 1,128 Officer

That's entirely up to you. Lefty Kreh can cast 80+ feet with the tip section of a 4 piece rod...I'd hope you can out cast a 90 year old man with a full 9' rod. :grin
    Pathfinder-Logo-300x103.jpg
  • Ol'DirtyCasterOl'DirtyCaster Posts: 2,322 Captain

A new rod isn't going to improve your distance. If you're having issues with your casting, a lesson or two from a local shop would probably make a world of difference.
  • ShadowcastShadowcast Wimauma, FLPosts: 1,052 Officer
    Orvis makes an entry level combo that is decent. The gear isn't going to get you out 20'....practice will.
    Capt. Jon Bull
    @shadowcastflyfishing
    Sales Rep - Ankona Boats, Salt Marsh Skiffs, Tavernier Skiff Company
  • Colorado TroutbumColorado Troutbum Posts: 102 Officer
    twirp wrote: »