Home General Freshwater Fishing

My son is getting into freshwater fishing and I could use some pointers

I'm a saltwater guy and have tried to get my son into fishing for years. Now he's away at college and low & behold he's borrowed his roommates fishing rod and just got done telling me he's caught 3 bass and 2 peacock bass in the lake over in Fort Myers.

I'd like to encourage this and I'll take his lightweight rod over to him next time I get over there. I'd like to buy him some lures, crankbaits, etc.. Do most guys use Braid or Mono? Can you tell me your dependable set-up's so he can have fun on the lake. Any tips are much appreciated.
Thank you.
visit Pure Pilates in Fort Lauderdale - http://www.pure-pilates.net

Replies

• roachbusterroachbuster Posts: 553 Officer
    Im not a pro at all but for my worm rod i use. 14 lb flurocarbon..topwater baits like speedworm or spro i use 20 lb braid..and for my horny toads i have a 7'11 flipping stick with 50 lb powerpro...but with that being said i used 15 lb mono for eveything for years and caught fish
  • roachbusterroachbuster Posts: 553 Officer
    As for baits i have every color speed worm..its my go to bait..u can fish it topwater or just under the top..or i will buy the smallest black cone weight at walmart and fish it slow and deep
  • former bluefishinnyformer bluefishinny Posts: 1,492 Officer
    This was my forte when I was in SE Florida.

Braid. I started using it for fresh back in 2004, and have not looked back. Suffix is good, and 10lb will be perfect for what he is looking to do. I always use a leader, and the diameter of it was all depended on what i was doing. For the most part, if you get a spool of Fluorocarbon LINE, not leader, say 14lb, that should be good for most applications. (I suggest line as it is was cheaper, and a 300 yard spool will last him till he graduates lol)