New to area

Hey guys noob here to the forum and SWFL. Recently moved to Cape Coral and bought a house with direct access, no locks, 30 min boat ride to river. I grew up in northern WV not far from Pittsburgh fishing for bass, trout, catfish etc. I've been to canoe boundary waters for smally fishing several times, but the salt water game is brand new. I've been catching some fish in my canal, mostly jacks. I'm in desperate need if recommendations for salt fishing gear.
Been using my bass gear and the salt is starting to wear on my quantum reel. I've been reading this and the fishing report forum daily trying to get a grip. Going to be doing 98% of my fishing from the bank. I need some pole and reel recs and anything else that is necessary getting started.
I plan on going to some bait shops to pick there brains and going to causeway and bridges to watch and meet others. Costco has a pole and reel combo for $80, not sure if its junk or not want I really need. Sounds like most like 7-7.5 stick, this one is 8 foot with fast action if you can't read it. Sorry so long but thanks in advance and great forum!

Replies

• snook charmersnook charmer Posts: 337 Deckhand