Home General Fishing

How far can you cast and with what?

Pioneer180Pioneer180 Posts: 124 Deckhand
The other day Rick Murphy gave a talk at our fishing club. At one point he highlighted that with certain rod size (like 1/2 foot longer but don't remember well) he could cast an extra 65 yards. I was like, ****?? So he means he can cast at least 65 yards (195') to begin with and then with a longer rod he can cast 390'? :huh I can't even cast 65 yards! Maybe with a 5lbs line and a 4oz lure LOL! Anyway, of course I am a relatively newbie and my lightest setup is a 7.5' Calico Jack rod with a 3000 Battle reel with 12lbs braid. With a 1/4oz Johnson gold spoon I can cast it maybe 100' (33yrds). So (with more practice) how far can I expect to cast with what? How you do and with what equipment? Looking to try to set some reasonable goals for self improvement :wink

Replies

• Jim311Jim311 Posts: 4,961 Captain
    I believe the longest cast ever made is in excess of 850 feet. Granted it was probably made with a surf casting rod that was 15 feet long and with a large weight, but it just goes to show you that there is some truth to the length of the rod helping you sling some lead. A long rod, light braided line, and the right lure can cast a long ways. When the water is clear and fish are spooky long casts can pay off, and you can cover more water if you can cast further. Anyway I don't believe anyone is going to know exactly how far they can cast, I doubt most of us bring out the measuring tape just to find out.
  • kmagnusskmagnuss Posts: 3,237 Captain
    Ok you got me curious... gonna bring a range finder with me next time out and see what I can come up with.

For starters I'll say that he's full of crap if 65yards EXTRA comes from 1/2 a foot of rod. I'd guess I can cast at most 65 yards with a 7'5" rod and some sort of spoon.
    Tarpon... everything else is just bait.
    Captain Keith - Crooked Rod Charters
  • SCFD rtrd.SCFD rtrd. Posts: 1,390 Officer