Home Photography Corner

From camera to paper

Grady-ladyGrady-lady east of the river, west of the woodsPosts: 5,282 Admiral
A just for fun thread showing a transition from photo to pastel. If anyone uses an original image to create art in a different medium, I'd love to see 'em.
(disclaimer - I am a hobbyist only, not an 'artist', so my attempts are usually a variation of one or even several photographic images rather than precise copies)

First few attempts - Puerto Rico

Same scene, different angle.
I find my peace out on the sand...Beside the sea, not beyond or behind. R.A. Britt

Replies

• mississippi macmississippi mac Posts: 4,222 Captain
    'Lady,

very good work...

kind of the way my wife and Stig do their work with their own special spin....
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    The Real White Dog

if you can't catch a fish...catch a buzz....
    #12976, joined 8-17-2002
  • Grady-ladyGrady-lady east of the river, west of the woodsPosts: 5,282 Admiral
    Thanks mac. A couple more...this came about because I am finally organizing my photos into folders...it's taking many hours. The plan is to create a child's book for our soon-to-arrive first grandchild. They live about 900 miles away, so I thought a story book featuring the baby's Florida family would be a good way for us (great grandparents, aunts and uncles, etc) to become familiar between visits.
    So in the process of organizing I finally put some images together with the pastels rendered from them. This is the first time I've seen them together for comparison.
    btw - I'm using Shutterfly (a newbie) to create the book...any tips and/or suggestions will be appreciated.

an Abacos beach

Bar Harbor

Friends place in Costa Rica, the pastel was a gift to them for letting us spend a glorious couple of weeks there.
    I find my peace out on the sand...Beside the sea, not beyond or behind. R.A. Britt

'Lady,

the first painting is incredible...