Home General Fishing

What's your favorite Kingfish / Mahi bait?

Muskee50Muskee50 Posts: 290 Deckhand
I'm just getting started in near shore fishing and would like some advise on favorite Kingfish / Mahi baits. I would like to purchase a few good producing baits without wasting money on off the wall stuff. Thanks.

Muskee50

Replies

• Jack HexterJack Hexter New Port RicheyPosts: 5,044 Moderator
    Live pilchards - get a castnet
  • saltyseniorsaltysenior Posts: 868 Officer
    a 4 and 5/16th inch blue runner (live)
  • Muskee50Muskee50 Posts: 290 Deckhand
    Looks like you guys like fishing live bait, how do you rig them?
  • fishing-guyfishing-guy Posts: 543 Officer
    Nice mullet , nice Poggies , but the best is a small ladyfish for me
  • Plastered2850Plastered2850 Posts: 1,842 Captain
    Pull planers with a sea witch and a belly strip
    for kings.
  • ScoutboatScoutboat Posts: 2,456 Captain
    Blue runner hooked vertically through the nose with a stinger hook trolled at about 4MPH.
  • temptingtranquilitytemptingtranquility Posts: 265 Deckhand
    live pinfish for kings, on a double treble hook stinger rig with #4 wire. Mahi aren't real common around here for me, but we killed some schoolies on live pilchards, 20lb flouro and a 3/0 mustad J down south.
  • The Cat's EyeThe Cat's Eye Posts: 1,483 Officer
    If you are just looking for eating size kings and not trying to win any tournaments live shrimp on a white 3/8 to 1/2 oz. egg head nylon jig work very well. I add a second slightly smaller hook to the jig, but do not insert that hook in the bait. I hook the live shrimp in the forward center part of its head from under the "chin" and out the top. Before dropping the rig down make sure you test it next to the boat to see if it spins. If it spins replace the shrimp and try again. If shrimp dies and its tail curls replace it.