Home Ask the Law!

What if? A Gator question

DiehardDiehard Posts: 68 Deckhand
Ok, here's the deal. Your fishing along a river or inlet and a gator that you did not see coming starts after you.
You have a handgun...can you shoot the gator?
My buddy said yes...I'm unsure??

Need a clarification from a LEO

Thanks,

Diehard

Replies

• Roc N RolRoc N Rol Posts: 1,352 Officer
    Not sure if it is legal, but I believe if something is trying to kill you and you cant get away, you have the right to kill it weather it is a gator or human.
  • RollinRollin Posts: 1,546 Captain
    Kill the Gator, but expect a lot of paperwork and a fine. I'm not a lawyer, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn last night.
  • BakermanBakerman Posts: 1,222 Officer
    Diehard wrote: »
    Ok, here's the deal. Your fishing along a river or inlet and a gator that you did not see coming starts after you.
    You have a handgun...can you shoot the gator?
    My buddy said yes...I'm unsure??

Need a clarification from a LEO

Thanks,

Diehard

".......can you shoot the gator?"
    Probably not cause I've been around a lot of gators and they usually go away from me. So an agressive one, which I "did not see", would be unexpected and probably strike before I could ..... a. see it,...... b. "clear leather". Assuming that I wasn't in my big boat, which would negate the discussion. In the kayak I'd be too busy getting out of the way.

So the question to be answered in the investigation would be were you hunting the gator, and just have an alibi story?

Note..... shooting fish or gators is generally not allowed even when hunting them in Florida.
    Bakerman formerly known as Bakerman.
  • Shoot him then go home! (oh and don't take the gator with you)
  • DiehardDiehard Posts: 68 Deckhand
    It would be a him or me situation when fishing from land. Have no interest in just killing one for the heck of it. But I have no intention of becoming "dinner" and too dang old to out run it.

Diehard