Rio Quickshooter Boonefish Line

redjimredjim Posts: 774 Officer
Been working on my cast the last few weeks and making good progress thanks to a pro or two. :)

It was suggested to me, to possibly try the Rio Quickshooter Bonefish line. So, I did and I LOVED it, it seemed to float higher than anything I had used before. I could not belive how it NEVER tangled even without stretching and shot like a cannon. It also loaded at a very close range.

I had been using WULFF for the prior six months but will be sticking with this from now on.

Just passing the word,.....

Replies

• Permit RatPermit Rat Posts: 2,283 Captain
    That's great Jim.....fly lines really are a personal choice and I am glad that the Rio suits your particular needs and casting style.

My love affair with the Wulff line actually had its beginnings on fresh water trout streams in the Ozarks. The long forward taper really allowed for a delicate presentation when necessary.

Then I moved back to Florida and all but forgot about the Wulff, going back to my old Sci. Anglers lines that I had used before and had gotten accustomed to. It wasn't until I started bonefishing in Mexico, (and during the low Winter time tides) that I thought to use the Wulff again. In southern Mexico, the flats are all caprock, but they have a layer of very fine white silt that covers them. It would remind one of diatomaceous earth, it is so fine. Anyway, the tides are lower and the bones cruise the top of the silt, looking for marine worms and whatever. YOU might be standing in knee deep water.....but these bones are cruising in 8 inches and boy can they be spooky! A little of that trout fishing know-how (and the Wulff line) has really come in handy.

So keep that Wulff line.....you may wish for it someday......like on windless late afternoons in the Summer, when the Keys bonefish seemingly cruise over just a few inches of water. Their dorsal fins and tails will show and yet these fish are cruising as well as feeding.