Staying in Estero need advice for a couple shore fishing and canoe Lover Key.

Staying at the Hyatt in Estero next weekend from Fri. - Sun. with my girlfriend and plan on doing some exploring and fishing in the area. I want to check out Lovers Key both for the sights and for the fishing. My girlfriend and I have a lot of experience fishing on foot and in a canoe which we will be bringing but this is our first time in the area and any tips would be much appreciated. Was thinking of getting some live shrimp or pins at the bait shop and walking the beach and then afterwards trying the inside with the canoe. Heard good things about the north pass(carlos pass?) but don't think I'll brave it on a canoe. We both love fishing but having a good time and avoiding the crowds is most important, if fish are caught it's a bonus. I have every piece of small craft fishing equipment imaginable so advice on cast netting bait or certain tides would be helpful, I'm already scoping everything out on google earth and will be purchasing a map too.

Thanks in advance

Replies

• troutducktroutduck Posts: 51 Deckhand
    There is a little creek right below the watertower that you can canoe to the beach from the road.
    New pass is accessible from the road and offers some fishing if you work your way out to the the pass. There is a dog beach and right next to it is a creek that goes up into Lovers Key that is a no motor area you could try.
    On the inside you can see the hotel. Between the road and the hotel there are some oyster bars and some grass. Just watch out for the crazy boaters and you should have lots of fun.
  • AlexNAlexN Posts: 15 Greenhorn