I got bit by the fly!

twirptwirp Posts: 1,128 Officer
I'm new to this section, but not to fishing! I grew up in southern Palm Beach Co. when it was still cattle farms and swamp. I fished canals as a kid, offshore with my uncles as soon as I learned to swim, local lakes, ponds and from the beach. I've had a boat of some kind ever since I was 9 or 10 years old...I love to fish! I moved to Jacksonville, FL 20 or so years ago, and have continued my passion for fishing....although it has changed, and been "refined". I specifically target red's, it's an obsession! I stalk shallow water, drift across grass flats, pick them off in the surf as they beach themselves chasing bait and so on. All with conventional fishing gear and baits.

Several months ago I loaded up and with my buddies and and took off from the ramp....while maneuvering to our spot, they were assembling their fly gear as they usually do, but I've never thought much of it...it's something they do on ocassion when we fish together. When we arrived at the creek mouth near the area we were going to stalk our quarry for the day, we were greeted with dead low conditions, with a soon to be incoming tide. The reds were still in their winter pattern, big schools! We rounded a corner in the gin clear water, and a school of about 25 fish was working right to us. We didn't want to move, let alone peg them with a 1/16oz jig head/ paddle tail combo. We were busted before we had a chance! We let the breeze ease us off the flat and into the spartina grass, we did not move or shift, so as not to send a pressure wave from the boat.