Home General Fishing

how to avoid bait stealers?

i'm new to salt water fishing, i dont have a boat so i'm forced to fish off piers. anytime i use live shrimp or frozen sardines, by the time the bait hits the bottom, i dont feel any hits and the bait is gone. i've been told its pin fish stealing the bait. are there any techniques you would advise? like keeping the bait moving with a steady retrieve? any help would be appriciated.

Replies

• FusionZ06FusionZ06 Posts: 1,024 Officer
    Catch whatever is stealing your bait and send it back down :)
  • Serpent710Serpent710 Posts: 205 Officer
    fishbites which is artificial strip bait with mesh so it stays on the hook. Ive had great luck with this, or this http://www.basspro.com/AtlasMikes-Magic-Thread/product/77948/
    References: triumphrick, 1love, MAVERICK16'10", Sails and Tails, Gatorman, Bottombouncer, onICE
  • thevilittletrollthevilittletroll Posts: 34 Deckhand
    what type of fish did you catch on the fish bites? do you just put it on the hook, cast out and wait?
  • Serpent710Serpent710 Posts: 205 Officer
    what type of fish did you catch on the fish bites? do you just put it on the hook, cast out and wait?

Yes that's how I fished the fish bites. I mainly use it for surf fishing and have caught whiting pompano and black drum on it, and sheepshead, pinfish inshore
    References: triumphrick, 1love, MAVERICK16'10", Sails and Tails, Gatorman, Bottombouncer, onICE
  • MH79MH79 Posts: 503 Officer