Be Heard...Steal this if you want.....but make this be ourt battle cry

CaptBobBryantCaptBobBryant Posts: 5,716 Officer
Read this...send it to every congress-person and Senator you can....

REP STEVE SOUTHERLAND

First I want to applaud your efforts...even though I am not in your district...I follow and support everything you have done in this area....I only wish our old boy Bill Young...knew how much our fisheries mean to Florida and our coastal communities.
I have been fighting NMFS since before 2000...My data analysis was used in 2004 to overturn NMFS decision to close all grouper down by Judge Steele.
As the congress holds hearings and considers the reauthorization of Magnuson/Stevens....I would like for you to be aware of a few points....
I participated on the NCR review of MRFSS....I am mentioned as a contributor....During my testimony it was I who suggested a federal angler registry....I also showed ways in which NMFS could employ more modern technology in gathering data and accepting volunteered data....most of which has fallen on deaf ears at NMFS....but were ideas embraced by the NRC....
Even today NMFS continues to use the most fatally flawed of the data collection efforts...The Coastal Household Telephone Survey....This is where NMFS derives its Effort and Participation data. Tt was designed in 1979 and has changed little; although most people have moved away from landline to mobile phones...NMFS continues to rely on a system that only calls listed landlines....this results in a miniscule sample that when grown is full of error and in many cases over estimates effort and particiaption by as much as 333%.