Wading...Waders, Wading Boots, Sneakers, or Barefoot?

BasstarBasstar Posts: 513 Officer
I just spent a month wading the Ft. Myers Beach area and had the time of my life!

It was so different than my previous freshwater fishing which is almost 100% from a boat.

I like the idea of wading barefoot but was told to slide my feet as to not step on a ray which was fine but a few slides into some sharp shells and stones left a nick or two and a couple of sore toes! I switched to sneakers.

But, I saw some anglers wearing chest waders and some wearing small wading rubber wading boots.

I am a total newbie in this arena and would like to hear the opinions of some of the "pros" here.

For those of you who get to fish like this regularly, I can tell you that I am definitely a bit jealous!

Replies

• haydenfox!#$haydenfox!#$ Posts: 2,376 Captain
    For the reasons you pointed out, I'd say some kind of "sneaker". Still gotta shuffle the feet! The information agaisnt covered feet says you cant feel what your stepping on leaving you vulnerable to an angry, pinned down stingray. Its not only the feet you gotta worry about when you fluster them. They whip that tail and bust you anywhere it lands. Does the shuffle work? Im sure its better to do it than not but in my experience they let me get to close for comfort. I dont even want to kick one which happens frequently. I prefer not to wade just for this reason. Call me soft but it stresses me out, man...
  • johnDjohnD WC FLPosts: 6,400 Admiral
    for the winter months ,stocking foot waders and wading boots ,linked below. (wear sweat pants underneath for cold days)

http://www.basspro.com/RedHead-Finley-River-StockingFoot-Chest-Waders-for-Men/product/44596/

http://www.basspro.com/World-Wide-Sportsman-Flats-Boots-for-Men/product/55184/

warm weather months I wear nylon shorts that dry quick and columbia drainmakers with ankle socks.
    all though I was thinking about springing for a pair of these.