Home Southeast General Fishing & The Outdoors

CARP CATCHES "SUCKER"!!!

CARP CATCHES SUCKER

Just too alert members to an unreliable business, yeah… And to blow off a little steam… I would like to tell you my experiences when purchasing a new iPilot trolling motor, on board battery charger, and two batteries, PLUS installation of all this, from Carp Mare Service, in Grant, FL.
I have been stopping in at Carp Marine and Bait and Tackle, for several years, when visiting my son in Sebastian. I’ve purchased a lot of tackle land lures from them and spoke many times with the manager. They always seemed to be very pleasant, knowledgeable, and helpful there. So when I finally moved to Sebastian, and finally found the perfect boat for me, I went to them for a price and installation of the aforementioned items. Here’s how it went….
a. I stopped in at the store on Thursday afternoon, and asked them for a price on the items listed, and the cost of installation.
b. I was given a price on the iPilot and other items and told that installation would be $85.00, which I know is about average for labor.
c. I specifically asked how long it would take, and was told, by the manager, that it would probably take 1.5 hours… 2 hours at the most.
d. I went home and talked it over with the boss, and decided to do business with them.
e. I called first thing Friday morning and asked them to order the iPilot and other items and to give me an installation date and time.
f. I received a call about 15 minutes later, informing me that the iPilot would be $50 more than quoted (in writing). When I asked why?... I was told that the manager, whom I spoke with, had looked at the wrong motor (without iPilot).
g. I KNOW there is FAR more difference in price than $50.00????
h. I told them to forget ordering the motor.
i. About 20 minutes later, they called me back and told me I could have the iPilot for the original quoted price.