Nikon D7000

Hello everyone...new to the photography corner and would like to ask a question.

Last night I ordered a Nikon D7000 16.2 MP digital SLR camera with AF-S DX Nikkor 18-200 mm f/3.5-5.6 ED VR lens.

I take a lot of photos while out scouting during waterfowl and turkey season.I'm not very good at all with a camera and really need to learn how to take quality photos.

To take quality photos of wildlife is there a certain setting I should set the camera too?

Is the lens that is being sent with the camera sufficient to take quality photos out at a distance as I see that a Nikon AF-S 55-300mm zoom lens or a 70-300mm telephoto lens can be ordered.

I do apologize for my ignorance,but any help would be appreciated.
Thank you
"If we lose freedom here, there is no place to escape to. This is the last stand on Earth ...
Ronald Reagan

Replies

• WaterEngineerWaterEngineer Posts: 24,414 AG
    Congrats on choosing Nikon's current top of the line DX format camera. Once you learn a few things you will be quite happy with the results you get out of the camera. I have nearly 60,000 stutter actuations on one. I have a few nit-picks but they are fairly esoteric and beyond the scope of this reply. It is a very balanced camera body, all things considered. I can understand you purchasing one now, they are certainly priced right at the moment.

The 18-200mm is considered an OK lens and is designed as "do all" travel (vacation) lens.

The most recent 70-300 with VR may be hand-holdable at 300mm but lens needs a lot of light.

You will have to keep the ISO (relatively) high, maybe as high as 1200-2000 at the beginning and end of the day (ends of light) or when you are in thick cover.

As with most things there is more than one way to get the shot you desire.

Shoot in "A" choose the widest aperture the lens will let, f/5.6, and choose an ISO that will let the shutter speed stay above 1/1000 sec, to freeze motion.

Alternately,