Pulled pork question

Larry MacLarry Mac Posts: 5,457 Admiral
Probably a dumb question, but since I am a newbie into slow fire cooking, what piece of pork is best for pulled pork?

Replies

• AllenRAllenR Posts: 2,699 Captain
    Shoulder. A k A Boston butt
  • cuckoocuckoo Posts: 107 Deckhand
    One in the freezer is labeled "Pork Shoulder Blade Roast"...
    God is great... Beer is good... And people are crazy!
  • FlashFlash Posts: 11,043 AG
    AllenR wrote: »
    Shoulder. A k A Boston butt

Well the shoulder actually has a larger bone, the Boston Butt a smaller one. Either are great for pulled pork.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Never seem more learned than the people you are with. Wear your learning like a pocket watch and keep it hidden. Do not pull it out to count the hours, but give the time when you are asked. --- Lord Chesterfield
  • TerribleTedTerribleTed Posts: 109 Deckhand
    Boston but is the shoulder top. All meat is good for slow cooking. Usually cheaper cuts are used because they become tender when slow cooked.
  • dcrdcr Posts: 290 Deckhand
  • AC ManAC Man Posts: 4,003 Captain

I've been smoking pork butts longer than I can remember, but I really can't tell a difference in bone in or boneless. What say you?

• SloughSlough S.w. Ga./ St. JamesPosts: 4,505 Captain

@AC Man said:
    I've been smoking pork butts longer than I can remember, but I really can't tell a difference in bone in or boneless. What say you?

I like cooking with bone in, may just be me. Grilling ribeye same, bone in.

I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you
  • CyclistCyclist Posts: 22,964 AG

Bone in adds flavor.

133cbf2b243368b1ddb2f591a1988076--beach-posters-florida-travel.jpg
  • WILLIEGATORWILLIEGATOR Posts: 22 Greenhorn

I buy the Butts from Costco, they have the bone removed. I have found that I can get more rub inside the meat prior to smoking, and get smoke better to more of the surfaces as well. you are also not paying for the bone either.