amplifer for boat

I got a fusion 700 for christmas and I was going to have it and a new fusion marine amp. installed, my question is has any one had battery problems after installing a amp in their boat, last thing I want to do is go fishing and kill my batteries because of the amp is drawing too much power.
2018 shearwater 27

Replies

• Capt SteveBetzCapt SteveBetz Posts: 67 Deckhand
    I have the Fusion RA 200 in my boat. I went through 3 of them before I found out you need an amp on that model.
    I found a Pyle marine amp online for 50.00. (I was told they are a piece of junk) I did not have a lot of money to spend on an amp at the time.

I have been running that amp since July 2012 and no problems. I have never had any battery issues. The amp is only powered up if the radio is on.
    Capt. Steve Betz
    Tampa Flats and Bay Charters
    www.flatsandbay.com
    813-727-8843
  • Capt. PantsCapt. Pants Posts: 659 Officer
    I had a 600W Sony amp and 200W Sony deck running off of my (2) batteries (cranking/ deep cycle) along with 2 bottom machines and back up GPS. No issues. I did however worry about the head unit LED's being on all the time when the detachable face was attached to unit, not so much about the power, but because it was so bright I always feared it would attract thieves from a mile away. I never did leave the stereo jamming all day while at the islands without running the motor periodically. Not sure if this helps, but that's my experience.
    Like Steve said, the amp is wired "through" the head unit which powers up the amp when in use. Running everything stereo to a switch never hurts, assuring all is "off" when the switch is.
  • greg123168greg123168 Posts: 276 Deckhand
    Thanks, I just worry aboy hanging out on the sand bars this upcoming summer and killing everything, but like you said Capt. Pants from time to time I always crancked up the engine and let her run a little
    2018 shearwater 27