Home Rules, Questions and Tests Forum Test

1962 28ft. Memco Sport Fisher

18910111214»

Replies

• 777mechanic777mechanic Posts: 26 Greenhorn
    Don't change the name of the boat.
    i have very much enjoyed the rebuild , but it makes me want to go out and buy a boat just to rebuild it , i have been an aircraft mechanic and custom woodworker for 29years and would love to start a project like yours. biggest problem is wait for my transfer to orlando from colorado which may be up to 2 years .
  • 28memco28memco Posts: 703 Officer
    Change the name of the boat from riptide to OL GAL.
    i have very much enjoyed the rebuild , but it makes me want to go out and buy a boat just to rebuild it , i have been an aircraft mechanic and custom woodworker for 29years and would love to start a project like yours. biggest problem is wait for my transfer to orlando from colorado which may be up to 2 years .

I remember when I started looking for a boat to rebuild. It became additive. I was on boat trader and other web sites 2 to 3 times a day. It took me about 2 years before I got this boat. I new the style of boat I wanted so I just waited patiently for her. It was well worth the wait. I get people all the time trying to buy her from me. I just smile and say, "Sorry it's not for sale."
  • skyway andeskyway ande Posts: 3,813 Captain
    Great thread!...
    I have been reading the 40page report over the past few nights...
    I thought about your relocating the wheel today, and I believe it's a very good idea...
    Bringing that steering up to date with hydrolic, or cable, will be exciting...
    I know, I'm quite fond of the chain system too, but to continue using the wheel where it's not comfortable...
    It should be a pleasure to captain the vessel.... Right-on!

As for the house makeover... I bought mine and told myself, this will be done in 1 year...
    It has been 3 years and I just planted a new backyard this past spring...