West lake near Flamingo

Hey guys pretty new here but I am asking for some help/advice, has anyone fished west lake in flamingo lately? I haven't gone there since I was a kid And the flats boat I was supposed to go fish flamingo on is giving my buddy fits. I have a 12 ft Jonboat and am thinking of west lake as fall back plan.

Any reports or good news about the lake lately?

Replies

• YakerLGYakerLG Posts: 129 Deckhand
    I am new to the area, but haven't heard anything good about west lake.I am still learning though. I caught some fish on the flats a little less than a week ago and up in the mangroves via kayak- so i would imagine that you could do the same, hopefully someone else with more experience will chime in for you. Plus, with a boat you have a lot more options that I did, good luck.
  • OviVOviV Posts: 229 Deckhand
    Do you have a trolling motor or push pole? If so, take your 12' John boat into snake bight and you will have a better time than in West Lake.
  • westywesty Posts: 130 Officer
    We fished West lake 2 weeks ago.We fished for about 2 hrs and didn't catch anything or see much bait. Decided to pull the kayaks and fish out front,and had a much better day. If you can get over by snake bight you'll do much better.If you cant get on the flats, just fish the channels and runoffs with a jighead and gulp shrimp,or jighead and a piece shrimp. Just work it slow on the bottom the water is cold.
  • lowe-boylowe-boy Posts: 1,222 Officer
    West lake is a dead zone.

Algae Bloom killed that place off years ago with the combination of fresh water intrusion.

Snake bight and Christian Point will be your best bet.
    The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane.
  • Pucker FactorPucker Factor Posts: 875 Officer
    lowe-boy wrote: »
    fresh water .

Saltwater.