First fishing bimini

Bull334Bull334 Posts: 73 Greenhorn
Ccrossing over this week and staying at big game club, since it's my first time over I would appreciate any thoughts on where to fish. I read to run south of Bimini for tuna and find the birds, but any other ideas? May want to snorkel andetc....thanks

Replies

• IdlewildeIdlewilde Posts: 1,357 Officer
    . . . . . . . . and keep running north and looking until you pass the old abandoned Issac lighthouse. And if you still don't see birds, keep running north and maybe a little east, once past the lighthouse.
  • Bull334Bull334 Posts: 73 Greenhorn
    Thanks a lot! Will do our best and just want to cross and get back safely. Would be nice to catch some tuna and etc.
  • 2fastlx2fastlx Posts: 407 Deckhand
    It makes for a long day, but run over to gingerbreads and do some diving and bottom fishing. Around 4pm, run about 15 miles towards freeport and then circle around to the west while staying 15-20 miles north of Great Issac light., then head back down towards bimini. Its alot of running and alot of fuel but you give yourself a good shot at yellowfins this way. Blackfins are a given so just run from flock to flock until you see signs of yellowfins. If you can find a frigate or two mixed in with the terns spend some extra time there. Bimini is an awesome place, but the best fishing is often a fair ride away from it. Good luck and be careful, regardless of how the fishing is you'll definitely want to go back for more.
  • IdlewildeIdlewilde Posts: 1,357 Officer
    And as 2fastx said, early morning and late afternoon are the best times to find yft.
  • GamekillaGamekilla Posts: 461 Officer
    What is the best time of year for the YFT?
  • doctodddoctodd Posts: 84 Deckhand
    March til July cuz of the bird patterns. The tuna are said to be always there....but fewer birds to show us and difficult weather to be out there now.