Home Angler On Foot

New to beach fishing. Caught a few at longboat key

Gray8188Gray8188 Posts: 24 Greenhorn
Went there over the weekend hoping to catch some snook but was only able to catch some lady fish. A few were decent size but not what I was hoping for. Was using an array of mirrodines top water and a few suspending ones.
I'm kinda new to beach fishing, have done mostly freshwater fishing practically my whole life. And now I'm trying to get more into salt water fishing. I don't have a boat yet, so will be doing my fishing by foot. Any pointers would be greatly appreciated. I live in new Tampa and am trying to find places around Clearwater, St Pete area. But looking forward to reading alot and learning from this forum.

Replies

• dtobiasdtobias Posts: 733 Officer
    Just put in your time. I throw jig and plastic combos, buctail jigs and a variety of hard plugs like the Mirrodine. You'll get one. Pay attention to the tide. I prefer the higher stages and just after the turn at the top. It puts more water up closer to the shorebreak. If there is water in the first trough, don't cast out as far as you can. Most of the fish are following the bait and pushing them up tight. I usually throw 30- 45 degrees which keeps your bait in the strike zone longer. Natural colors work, but you can't go wrong with white or glow when fishing the beach. Good luck out there.
  • Gray8188Gray8188 Posts: 24 Greenhorn
    Thanks for the tips I appreciate it. Last time I went it was low tide had to walk out 20ft to be in shin deep water. I will fish the higher tide next time and hopefully I will have better luck. Any other good beaches around for snook?
  • Homer47Homer47 Posts: 11 Greenhorn