Home General Freshwater Fishing

new to orlando area looking for some advice

hey everyone. moving down to orlando florida soon for college. im an avid freshwater and saltwater fisherman here in NJ and know quite a bit about saltwater fishing in florida but no so much about freshwater. been doing alot of research but most of it seems geared towards fishermen with bass boats. im a college student so much to my disappointment the chance of me getting my hands on a boat are slim to none lol. so i was wondering if anyone had any tips or pointers for me regarding bass fishing from the shore in orlando. looking at the conway lake chains because ive heard they were very good. but would fishing from the shore be possible? i heard there was alot of private property and lake front houses surrounding them. i have my chest high waders i use for surf fishing but i could use them to wade out into the lake if you think i have a better chance doing that.

also what are you guys using for bait? up here literally all i use is spinnerbaits, topwater, and senko worms on offset hooks because thats the only thing they go for in the lakes around me. i feel like its generally the same and i have plenty of other tackle but every area has a specific bait that does well.

you guys can PM if you dont feel like leaving a public message or whatever you prefer and ANY advice is greatly appreciated.

Good luck fishing and hope to hear from someone soon! :)

Replies

• TedPTedP Posts: 90 Greenhorn
    Try fishing some retention ponds with the same bait you fished up north. Watch your step in the tall grass. And personally, I wouldn't wade a lake or pond. Others might, but I won't.
  • Bass2bucksBass2bucks Posts: 654 Officer
    Butler chain, johns lake, Harris chain, Kissimmee chain, st johns river. All are within an hour of Orlando. Are you going to ucf? If so they hve a fishing club that rents kayaks etc for free to fishing club members.
  • LeeHLeeH Posts: 121 Officer