trouble casting

btm930btm930 Boca RatonPosts: 240 Deckhand
need help....im trying to cast my 9 ft. 8/9 weight temple fork outfitter NXT series. I have the original fly line on it i feel like i cast and the line gets stuck in the guides and it only goes 15 ft.....:facepalm any help before i just go:banghead thank you

Replies

• fltsfshrfltsfshr Posts: 292 Officer
    Check your guides to make sure they are all right and clean your fly line. Use a good fly line cleaner and dressing and check your line for abrasion. See if that helps. You'll know right away.

fltsfshr
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  • DogmanDogman Posts: 450 Deckhand
    You didn't mention if you were a beginner caster or if you were experienced. As a beginner myself I had issues getting the line started to where I could cast. When I went to a casting lesson the instructor told me to strip out about 30' of line and use a back and forth motion with the tip of the rod pointed down to get the line out of the rod. Then a quick roll cast to straighten out the slack. After that it was very easy to pick and start false casting. I don't know if this helps but if not I'm sure some one with more experience than I will chime in soon.
    2013 Native Watercraft Slayer 14.5 (Sand) - His
    2010 Wilderness Systems Tarpon 100 (Mango) - Hers
  • saltybumsaltybum Posts: 1,579 Captain
    Welcome to fickle fishing... uh I mean fly fishing.
  • Permit RatPermit Rat Posts: 2,283 Captain
    Dogman wrote: »