Skip to main content
Home Fly Fishing

Snook Fly Leader?

Inshore OnlyInshore Only MemberPosts: 77 Greenhorn
I am new to fly fishing for snook and I was wondering what would be a good all around snook leader. I will be fishing mainly around dock lights but also along the beach on an eight weight rod.

Thanks
Redfish 10'

Replies

• dunflydunfly Member Posts: 54 Deckhand
    For beach snook, I use a 9 foot leader with a 10# tippet section and a 25# fluorocarbon bite tippet of about 1 foot. You can use tapered leaders but I tie my own. I use 4 foot 30# hard mono butt section, 3 foot 20# hard mono mid section and 2 foot 10# fluorocarbon tippet section, again with a 1 foot 25# fluorocarbon bite tippet. For docks you may want to shorten the leader a little and use all fluorocarbon with a 12# or greater tippet section and a 30# fluorocarbon bite tippet. Off the beach you can let them run, but around docks you what to pull them out a quickly as possible.
  • acesoveracesover Senior Member East Central Fl.Posts: 552 Officer
    What knot do you use to attach the bite tippet to the leader with?
    FYIWFG
  • fltsfshrfltsfshr Senior Member Naples FlPosts: 292 Officer
    I use a tapered leader with a surgeons knot and a little superglue for the tippet. The superglue beads on the knot and gives it a smooth finish. I'm too lazy to tie my own.

I use superglue on every knot I tie.

fltsfshr
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  • mtd885mtd885 Senior Member Hallandale Beach/Cudjoe Key FlPosts: 1,159 Officer
    I use a Slim Beauty however you can use an Albright.
  • YakFlyYakFly Junior Member Kissimmee,FLPosts: 12 Deckhand
    I use blood knots on all the leader connections. I've never had an issue yet with that knot.
  • dunflydunfly Member Posts: 54 Deckhand
    I use Albrights for the step down (different diameter) connections. Blood knots if they are similar diameter lines.
  • Permit RatPermit Rat Senior Member Stuart, Fla., Veracruz, Mx.Posts: 2,283 Captain
    mtd885 wrote: »