Sea Trout

tarawatarawa Posts: 152 Deckhand
I am new to saltwater fishing but I like to eat at least one fish that I catch. When I asked my friend about eating the sea trout that he catches, he really didn't recommend it. He said to stick with redfish and snook. I have eaten small sea trout from North Carolina and Deleware, so what about the Florida sea trout? I thought that they were the same. Please note that my wife about threw me out of the house for cooking up some rank wild hog....live and learn I guess.
Life Is For Service

Replies

• ChumSlickChumSlick Posts: 252 Officer
    Specks have a very soft texture. And are full of worms. If you do go with the trout I cut them into nuggets and Stokes them in buttermilk over night to firm up the meat. The worms wont hurt you. A few min. In the fryer and you don't even know they are there...
  • FlashFlash Posts: 11,120 AG
    I wouldn't say FULL of worms, but you will see some, but they do not harm you. Here is another way to prepare them. Section your fillets and get a medium to large bowl, depending on how many fillets. Throw a few ice cubes in the bowl, then some fillets and add a sprinkle of sea salt. Cover with a few cubes of ice. More fillets, more ice, more sea salt. Continue on and then place bowl in fridge. You want to give the trout a minimum of two hours like this. Make sure you pour off any water that eventually melts from the ice and add some more ice when needed. You can actually leave the trout like this for up to 6 hours.
    When ready to fry, lightly coat the fish with mayonnaise. We like Pankow, Japanese bread crumbs. Place fillets in a bag of Pankow and shake up good. Use something like Peanut or Canola oil to fry the fish and make sure it is hot before starting (a drop of water in oil will tell you). Never use vegetable oil. Fish will taste great.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]