St. Petersburg wade fishing

Guys,

I recently moved to St. Pete and would really, really appreciate some tips on general places to wade fish, effective lures, etc. I grew up fishing freshwater in Pennsylvania, so I'm relatively new to saltwater, other than fishing on vacation. That said, I'm familiar enough with the basics, but just need some more specific direction and would prefer to stick with artificials.

Can you guys help me out? Thanks a million in advance...

Replies

• ShadowcastShadowcast Posts: 1,020 Officer
    Ft. DeSoto is calling your name. Check out Google Earth and start knocking off wading spots. It may take you a while to hit them all. Topwater plugs early in the morning, weedless jerkbaits, Mirr-O-Dines, weedless spoons as the day progresses. Moving water is key and so is finding mullet and wading birds. I like to wade on the lower end of the tides. There is a starting point for you.
    Capt. Jon Bull
    Shadowcast Charters
    Sales Rep - Ankona Boats, Salt Marsh Skiffs, Tavernier Skiff Company
    2018 Tavernier 17
  • anianoaniano Posts: 320 Officer
    FLNewbie wrote: »
    Guys,

I recently moved to St. Pete and would really, really appreciate some tips on general places to wade fish, effective lures, etc. I grew up fishing freshwater in Pennsylvania, so I'm relatively new to saltwater, other than fishing on vacation. That said, I'm familiar enough with the basics, but just need some more specific direction and would prefer to stick with artificials.

Can you guys help me out? Thanks a million in advance...

Pinellas Point also has some great areas to wade and usually not as crowded as DeSoto.

I'm not usually and artificial lure guy , primarily live bait, but I've found slugger tails to work very well near P. point for trout.
    www.scottdeitche.com
    Twitter- scottyyz
    Facebook - Author page

new book: Rogue Mobster: The Untold Story of Mark Silverman and the New England Mafia, out now!

Next Ybor City Mafia Tours - Fall 2012