Hydraulic Steering Acting Up Again

tekmunkitekmunki Posts: 668 Officer
My seastar helm has a cloud 'clunk/click" noise when changing directions, it also sometimes requires a bit of effort to get the motor to move (quick jerks); I had this issue before, somewhat, where bleeding the system repaired it, but now it seems to be acting a little different; from what I've read the check valve likely has dirt/corrosion in/around it- no leaks at all, just a nice clunk when changing direction- mostly worried about it jamming and then not responding at some point on the water.

Has anyone disassembled one to clean the check valve? Should I take the whole pump off to do the cleaning, or can I safely clean it inside the console? Is a system purge necessary before cleaning the valve, or is it easy to get to?

I've never done the repair before, just trying to do it quickly and easily as possible.
sigsmallx.jpg
Q: How much fishing equipment can a man have before his wife throws him out?
A: I do not know for sure; however, I believe that the experiment is almost complete!

Replies

• SCFD rtrd.SCFD rtrd. Posts: 1,381 Officer
    I'm getting ready to do mine also. I looked on THT and found a step by step post of how to disassemble, repair/clean and reassemble. Has pictures also. Kinda in a hurry this morning or I'd post the link. There are spring loaded parts, so the correct method of repair/cleaning is to remove the helm.
  • tekmunkitekmunki Posts: 668 Officer
    SCFD rtrd. wrote: »
    I'm getting ready to do mine also. I looked on THT and found a step by step post of how to disassemble, repair/clean and reassemble. Has pictures also. Kinda in a hurry this morning or I'd post the link. There are spring loaded parts, so the correct method of repair/cleaning is to remove the helm.

Thanks- I'll search for that post;

Looks like that means I'm purging the system again.

*fyi, I found this guide, that seems to have some great advice and some pics of the assembly.