Dacron or Spectra backing...??????

Capt No SlackCapt No Slack Posts: 41 Greenhorn
What type and size of backing should I put on my new battenkill IV large arbor!

I realize that 90% of the time the fish I am going to be targeting with my new 8wt large arbor I will never see the backing. However for those rare times were I hook a big fast fish I want to be rigged up the best I can to give myself a chance to catch the fish!!!!!!

it already has the "Free" dacron backing that orvis gives when you purchase a reel from them. Since I was not the original purchaser, I do not know what size dacron it is????? If I had to guess it is either 20lb or 30lb dacron.

My background is in Offshore Sportfishing, years ago I spent 6 years of my life living on the OBX of NC working on offshore charter boats.

I do not trust anyone's knots/crimps/connections other than my own!!! I use to fish Marlin tournaments where you could have a million dollar fish on the line, so I have become really anal about my connections.

That being said I am probably am going to pull all the mystery dacron off and start all over.......(I may re-use it.....and just tie my own arbor knot etc)

I have lots of questions!

do yall saltwater fly flingers "wax" or "coat" the spool before spooling??? backing dacron or spectra tends to hold moisture/salt and lying tight to the spool I have seen some spool corrosin problems on Internationals and Tiagras. Because of that, I use to wax offshore reels spools & arbor always before spooling!

Wax fly reel spool yes or no????:shrug I assume so!

Should I use dacron or spectra backing.........if I do use spectra should I use solid or Hollow core! Right know I am thinking about using a Quality Hollow Core Specrta 30lb to 65lb as backing???