Rookie Question......Fly Rod/Reed set up theory??????

Capt No SlackCapt No Slack Posts: 43 Greenhorn
Hey I am new to fly fishing and I have a couple of questions.

What is the typical set up for Right Handed fly casters?

You know the vast majority of right handed fisherman when using spinning rods hold/cast the rod with there right hand and reel the spinning reel with there left hand. I am right handed and this is how all my spinnging reels are set up.

A fly rod reel is under slung from the fly rod just like a spinning reel hangs below the rod.....So I assumed for right handed fly casters that you would want the the fly reel handle so your left hand does the winding.

I purchased a fly rod/reel combo and had it spooled up with backing and fly line at the shop where I bought the reel. The store clerk as asked me how I wanted my reel set up.......he told me the reel was reversible and could be done either way and he needed to know what side I wanted the handle on so he could put the line on the reel to match my fishing method.

I did not put to much thought in it and based on my spinning rod/reel preference I told him to set it up so I cast the rod with my right hand and reel the line with my left hand. And that is what he did.

I was watching "Spanish Fly" jose' Wejebe and I noticed he cast the fly rod with his right hand, AND his reel handle is on the right side of the reel. So if he gets a stong powerful fish and end up fighting the fish on the reel, he has to switch hands and move the rod to his left hand and crank/wind the reel with his right hand.

Is this what the majority of Right Handed fly casters do.............I am assumeing the Jose' is doing it the right way and I am doing it the wrong way I just would like to know the theory why????