Elbow tackle questions and looking for recommendations

First off let me say I'm not a novice or new to offshore fishing, I have been fishing the Big Bend area and MG's for some odd years now, have been 100 miles out and have caught a list of different reef species.

I'm planning on trying the Elbow acouple times this year in the 175 to 250ft. mark, after reading reports and seeing pics like the recent Warsaw pic in the Florida Sport Fishing mag, is starting to make me rethink my bottum fishing rig and set-up.

My usual set-up is a Shimano Tekota 700 on a 50# class rod spooled with 60# ande with 80 to 100# leader. I have other bottum combo's but this is my favorite along with acouple heavy jigging combo's. I also have a TLD 30A II speed spooled with 80# braid on a 50# class rod and 2 TLD LRSA 50 II speeds spooled with 80# mono on 80 to 100# class bent butt rods with roller guides.

I'm not a fan of electric reels cause it just doesn't seem sporting to me but I'm sure after acouple of times of reeling up 250ft. I would be wishing I had one, for now I stick with what I have.

I was thinking of using the 30A and 50's since they have the II speed gears, so I guess my question is should I beef up to these combo's and also beef up my leader and hook, and instead of tieing my knots should I go to crimps with heavy leader.
Thanks for your recommendations.
Art

Replies

• GulfWarriorGulfWarrior Posts: 141 Officer
    May I ask is there a space consideration on the boat? If not, I would take a 30-40# set-up, 50-60# set-up and an 80-100# set-up as a minimum for the 'bow. Also consider taking a Medium/heavy spinning set-up in case any Mahi or Cobia make a showing.

If there is a space consideration, I'd go with the 30A. It will give you the option of high gear speed for smaller fish and you can drop down to Grandma for anything big that takes the bait.