Home Photography Corner

DSLR Recommendations

BatemasterBatemaster Posts: 1,701 Captain
I'm looking to upgrade from your regular digital camera to a DSLR model. Im new to DSLR's but i want something I can learn with and also grow into. I've been to Pittman Photo and looked at the Nikon D5100 and the Canon T3i. I like the feel of the Canon a lot and they're both similarly priced. I've thought about buying the body alone but looking around at lens recommendations and the Canon 18-55mm is highly recommended as a 'take everywhere' lens. What do you guys think?

Replies

• FirmanjaxFirmanjax Posts: 382 Deckhand
    I have the canon T2i and it does great. I am not a photography or camera expert and don't know half of what the camera is capable of but I have taken some really great shots with it. I got it mainly so I could get action shots of the kids playing ball games. You can come up with 500 pics in a hurry. I got the kit with the 300 mm lens and extra battery. I believe we bought it from sams club last year. I don't know about the nikon but I don't think you would go wrong with either one.
  • WaterEngineerWaterEngineer Posts: 24,415 AG
    Nikon glass spanks Canon. And, Nikon autofocus is faster. But, then I might be bias.

I suggest you or the mods move this thread over to the Photography Forum as this question has been discussed a lot recently.

Bottomline, buy Canon or Nikon do not buy one of the other makers and they are all on the ropes.

You don't tell us what you want to do with your camera which would be mighty helpful.

Canon is running a holiday special at the moment.
  • Cane PoleCane Pole Stuart, FLAPosts: 9,906 Admiral
    18-55 is too short for an all-purpose carry lens. 18-135 is much better.

So many bodies available. All depends on your budget.

Go to B&H photo, search by lens or body and read all the customer reviews.
    Live music 7 nights a week: http://www.terrafermata.com/_events
  • BatemasterBatemaster Posts: 1,701 Captain