Huge Amberjack, Gag Grouper, Red Grouper changes

harbisonharbison Posts: 5,576 Admiral
https://youtu.be/Ax7ERWAZFsI
If you fish for Amberjack, Gag Grouper, Red Grouper this video is a must see:

Replies

• Crkr23Crkr23 MelrosePosts: 476 Deckhand
    Anumber1 told us to be expecting something like this.
  • harbisonharbison Posts: 5,576 Admiral
    Guess we all knew it was coming. 
    Personally I have been fishing offshore for over 60 years. Grouper and snapper fishing was good back then; it still is. Exception was Red Snapper; we had none.
    AJ... Up until a few years ago they were plentiful. Now they are getting harder & harder to find. 
  • Phins_360Phins_360 FLPosts: 26 Deckhand
    So MSA - supposed to limit derby style fishing - yet we are going to have derby style fishing, at least on the REC side.

At least it looks like for gags, anyway, the comm guys are getting similarly reduced :smile:

I filet and release more now I guess.

Once again the NMFS is a day late, like any dot gov agency.  $6/gal gas and diesel is shutting down the fishery anyway by default.

I did a trip back in June.  overnight, west of the MG, on a weekend even, and hardly saw anyone.  A few comm boats out there, but nothing like it was a year or 2 ago.

They should have left the seasons alone.  Plenty of RG, gags and ARS out there. So I don't see the reason behind the closures.  Never trusted the NMFS "data" either. 

Oh yeah, I am all for a reporting app for us RECs.  The reason we DON'T have one is that the REAL data would be contra to their narrative and thus NOT support closures based on our alleged pressure on the fishery.

Fire away ANUMBER zero.
  • ANUMBER1ANUMBER1 Posts: 12,902 AG
    Phins_360 said:
    So MSA - supposed to limit derby style fishing - yet we are going to have derby style fishing, at least on the REC side.

At least it looks like for gags, anyway, the comm guys are getting similarly reduced :smile: