Skip to main content
Home Fly Fishing

Total beginner rod weight

Wra22Wra22 Posts: 237 Deckhand
I have never even held a fly rod. I want to try it and would like to know if a lighter or heavier rod is the way to start. Any rod weight recommendations appreciated if it does matter.   Thank you. 

Replies

• CWFliesCWFlies StuartPosts: 152 Deckhand
    Depends on what you will be fishing for. Most people start with a 8 or 9wt which will cover you for most any inshore saltwater or freshwater fishing in FL. It won't be heavy enough for 100lb tarpon but will be enough for just about anything else you'd want to do. 
    I would recommend going to your local shop and trying out some of their rods. Most shops can guide you with casting lesson then help you pick out the right rod for you.
    You don't need to spend $1000 on your first rod. Just find something you like that feels comfortable and you can cast well.  
  • troutbomtroutbom Posts: 402 Deckhand
    I started with an entry level 6 wt Bass Pro package I got as a gift. CW is right that an 8 or 9 is the go to for inshore salt but I think a 6 wt overlined with a 7 wt line might be easier to learn with. It will do ok for most inshore work. I got snook up to 40" and bones to 5 lbs on my first outfit but really learned to use it in the Everglades on bass and exotics where 6 wt the better choice.. Both TFO and Orvis have good package outfits that I've purchased as gifts.I've upgraded to Sage X 8 wts for salt and Orvis 5 wt for freshwater trout out west. If you have no interest in freshwater, I think an 8 wt your best bet as CW recommends
  • sunflowersunflower osprey, floridaPosts: 702 Officer

That's like asking what kind vehicle to buy. Depends on your purpose.
    What do you want to fish for? In salt or fresh water?

Mark

grace finds goodness in everything ...

• Wra22Wra22 Posts: 237 Deckhand