Home General Paddle Craft

Trolling with gogs

cranker789cranker789 MiamiPosts: 418 Deckhand
Wondering what kind of setup to use when trolling gogs. I'm new to trolling on the kayak. I got two gogs this morning and headed out. both got hit, both were lost. I was using an old penn 850ss, 20lb mono main line, about 6 ft mono 60lb leader, then 18'' wire with two treble hooks. Once it broke off at the main line, and the other time on the leader. Still learning so any input appreciated! Pretty sure i gotta beef up the tackle a bit but don't know to what. Thanks. 

Replies

• The Cat's EyeThe Cat's Eye Posts: 1,587 Captain
    edited October 9 #2
    20 lb test should be enough. Replace your line, don't fight these fish with a heavy drag. Learn to tie a 15 ft double line  Bimini Twist leader with 60 to the 20 main line. If you are hooking large fish like billfish or sharks their tails can  wrap it or hit it. I would guess in a kayak you have no choice but to follow a tish from straight back behind it, but in a powered vessel i follow fish slightly from the side so the line is not dragging over their backs and tail. i have caught marlin on 30 lb mono.
    Giimoozaabi
  • lemaymiamilemaymiami Posts: 4,456 Captain
    edited October 10 #3
    I’d set that 20lb outfit up a rod’s length of at least 80lb mono…
    and my 20lb would have a Bimini twist to double it before using a stout connection to that leader…. From there -for sails, dolphin, cobia, tuna, tarpon, or other fish without cutting teeth I’d attach a 6/0 circle hook ( I like Owner or Gamakatsu) and you’re ready to fish a goggle eye, mullet or blue runner.  If you’re in king mackerel, wahoo,  barracuda territory then I’d want a 100lb swivel, 12 to 18” of #6 or 7 wire with a single 6/0 or 7/0 hook… If you choose to add a stinger hook, use the same size wire to add a second single hook - one size smaller, set into the live