Skip to main content
Home Fly Fishing

Belize bonefish trip

pannickpannick Posts: 3 Greenhorn
Hey Gang, Hope that all is well.

I am new to this thread so don't scream too much at my question.

I have spent most of my life jumping baby tarpon, chasing snook & peakcock bass in S. Florida canals to lately chasing trout & redfish in the Crystal River, FL area. Well for my 60th birthday my wife has booked me my dream trip to Belize to give bonefish a go.

Now all of my life I have gotten away with using the old school Pflueger & Reddington reels on old Silstar or Scientific Anglers rods. So I am looking what to get myself for my trip. I am a budget minded guy. Not quite as cheap as George Costanza but, well you know. I am guessing that something like a TFO BVK SD model fly reel and a Lefty Kreh or TFO rod won't be good enough.

Is there a combo or set up that a guy can put together for $400-600 that will handle and hold up to what I am going to be doing? Thanks in advance

Replies

• limitlesslimitless Posts: 707 Officer
    A TFO LK Legacy rod or a Mangrove would do fine for Bones, Snook, even Permit.  Match it up to a TFO BVK SD (sealed drag) reel and you've got a good outfit under $600   Watch the forums like this and Micro Skiffs for used ones on sale too.  Maybe even Ebay.

The Snook & Gamefish Foundation is now the Angler Action Program: http://angleractionfoundation.com/  Dedicated to Conservation and Education.  Please check us out.

Angler Action Program: IAngler app trip log on your phone

• troutbomtroutbom Posts: 409 Deckhand
    Caught lots of Bahamian bonefish on TFO paired with Orvis Large Arbor reel. Got a new TFO sealed drag for a friend and he likes it. Belize bones pretty small (usually) and your snook/redfish outfit is plenty good enough. No need to break the bank. Invest in a good tropic line though. I like RIO but lots of good ones out there.
  • sunflowersunflower osprey, floridaPosts: 721 Officer