Skip to main content
Home General Fishing

Conventional Reel Help

justinmsjustinms West Palm BeachPosts: 12 Deckhand
hey guys im fairly new to using a conventional lever drag reel. when casting I still have trouble with it backlashing. I know I am supposed to put my thumb on the spool still it manages to backlash (was able to fix it last time it did.) I use an avet mxl g2.

problem I have is if I put my thumb on the spool any harder i will get little to no distance. tips or feedback?

Replies

• Jack HexterJack Hexter New Port RicheyPosts: 5,506 Moderator
    Lever drags are not meant to be cast.  Get a different reel
  • MulletMaster239MulletMaster239 Southwest FloridaPosts: 873 Officer
    justinms said:
    hey guys im fairly new to using a conventional lever drag reel. when casting I still have trouble with it backlashing. I know I am supposed to put my thumb on the spool still it manages to backlash (was able to fix it last time it did.) I use an avet mxl g2.

problem I have is if I put my thumb on the spool any harder i will get little to no distance. tips or feedback?
    Not really much to add conchydong pretty much sums it up.  Also once your bait hits the water stop the spool to prevent backlash.  Another advantage of that is also it makes your bait land softer if you’re casting to fish you can see feeding and won’t spook them as much plus help keep your bait alive a little longer.
  • lemaymiamilemaymiami Posts: 4,687 Captain
    Here’s the advice I give beginners working with plug reels for the first time... After rigging up with whatever lure or weight you choose (keep it within the weight range your rod shows...).  hold it horizontal with your thumb on the spool, take it out of gear and just allow it to drop.... then gradually tighten the end cap until the line comes off the reel as slowly as possible.  Now you’re ready for that first cast.  Only loosen that end cap very slightly once you’re able to cast without backlashing...