Home Southwest General Fishing & The Outdoors

Pine Island today............

I posted some of this on a thread regarding where to buy chum. But decided it needed its own thread. I have been fishing in Bookelia for over 25 years. Before and after the net ban. I lived in Orlando and the annual trip in September ( because the season would open for Snook and Reds that month) was magical. Like going back to old Florida in the 50's. Clean water, beautiful turtle grass, lots of fish, few boats.... I had not been back in 5 years due to health, storms, red tide etc. Finally made the anticipated trip last week and what I found was sad.

1) Burn Store Road used to be a two lane road through wilderness (our shortcut to not take 41). Now 4 lanes and new housing developments on both sides.
2) Burn Store Rd used to end on 78. Now it extends into 4 lanes of Veteran's Parkway all the way to Ft Myers with hundreds or thousands of new houses
3) Driving through Malatcha was very slow with every heavy traffic. Packed with cars and people.
4) Publix being built at Pine Island Center.
5) We used to see 2-4 boats on the water on a week day. This time we could count 10-15 boats at every fishing stop we made..during the week.
6) Jet Skis in Pine Island Sound! Had to take pictures of a group of 8 running around the islands and 2 that got between us and the mangroves as we approached a fishing stop.
7) scarce bait (could be seasonal and due to colder water.(
8) areas that were covered with acres of beautiful turtle grass (used to scrape our ankles above the booties when wading) now covered with some "blob" of algae everywhere
9) We used to run into small and large schools of reds inside the Sound many years back. Have not seen them in years. I imagine the sound of outboards and jet skis running all over the place has taken care of that
10) At some times of the day, boat traffic in Shell Creek was so heavy that you had to slow down or stop to take a turn