Home Boating

Hewes Bonefisher Project

loganboatsloganboats South Florida Posts: 3 Greenhorn
I’m Logan and I’m 16 I’ve started working on a 1979 16ft Hewes Bonefisher that I recently bought as a project to finish building and get out on the water. When I got the boat already had new floors put in and stringers for the deck.  It also came with a Yamaha 90 that needed a lower unit and much other mechanical work and luckily I managed to get a good deal on a Bobs Machine jack plate and Mercury 115. So now I need to focus on how to build out my deck and with what material. Everything so far has been made of honey comb board. I have some pictures but I will post better ones once I can get some. I was also wondering if it would be better to do a one piece deck out of a mold or to get one cut out. If anyone can help I would appreciate it this is my first time working on a boat and I’m also on budget but I want to make sure I do the deck the right way. 
Thanks ✌🏻

Replies

• polliwogpolliwog Posts: 290 Deckhand
    You should go on the Maverick Boat group   web site that has many people who have restored your boat as well as other Hewes boats.  These are boats that are unique.  Maverick owns Hewes and pathfinder as well as produces Maverick boats  Good luck
  • loganboatsloganboats South Florida Posts: 3 Greenhorn
    I’ll check it out, thanks!
  • kmagnusskmagnuss Posts: 3,237 Captain
    Keep us updated... can't wait to see your progress!
    Tarpon... everything else is just bait.
    Captain Keith - Crooked Rod Charters
  • GotseaGotsea Posts: 594 Officer
    That's quite a Project Mr. good for you, let us how it goes Cheers 
  • tarpon41tarpon41 Posts: 247 Deckhand