Skip to main content
Home Southwest General Fishing & The Outdoors

Night fishing nearshore

ScottZeiterScottZeiter SE Cape Coral Posts: 2 Greenhorn
I finally bought a boat after 5 years of living in Cape Coral. Looking for a good night fishing spots, nearshore.  Not yet comfortable going much farther than 5 or 6 miles out. As I'm relatively new to saltwater fishing, looking for any advice on where to go, and how to fish these areas. 

Replies

• bigfinn35bigfinn35 Senior Member Sarasota/VenicePosts: 1,167 Officer
    Any particular reason for doing night fishing specifically? I'd recommend running a few trips during the daylight to get used to the area and riding offshore before going out after dark, even if you only plan on going a few miles.

Best way to find good new spots offshore is to use publicly available coordinates as a starting point. Google a list of GPS coordinates for artificial reefs and other public fishing spots (wrecks, etc) in your area, or buy a map with those spots included. There should be plenty of stuff near shore. When you're headed to those spots, go slow enough that you can get a good reading from your bottom machine/fishfinder. Trolling can be a good way to do this if you've got the time to go that slow, especially if you're only going a few miles, but up to you. There's lots of small patches of broken hard bottom, swiss cheese bottom (hard limestone with small holes in it), ledges, and other good structure that can hold fish that you might find. Save those coordinates when you find the spots and try fishing them with some baits on the bottom. If you don't find anything on the way to those public spots, then try motoring around the area to keep looking.

It will really help to read the instructions on your bottom machine thoroughly so you have a good idea of what hard bottom, ledges, etc. will look like when you come across them. Can't write much more in detail at the moment but if you have more questions I can respond later.