Home General Fishing

new to fishing

cityguycityguy pasco countyPosts: 8 Deckhand
Hey guys, I am new to Florida, from NYC. I have never lived lower than a 4th floor apartment building. I know i have missed out on alot. 
Posting to ask for any good advice for fishing or hunting. I am located in pasco county but i dont mind driving. 
If anyone has any advice to share or has extra time to teach someone a few tricks, i am a very good student. please and thank you , i will take all advice. 

Replies

• TarponatorTarponator Under a BridgePosts: 14,180 AG
    My advice is for you to hire a professional guide.  You'll learn more in a day than you will in a year fishing by yourself.

Welcome to Florida.
  • 10kman10kman Posts: 587 Officer
      See if there is a fishing club close by.You generally get to
    hear speakers/guides and to fish with members in the club.
  • cityguycityguy pasco countyPosts: 8 Deckhand
    @Tarponator thank you. I will look into it. how would i go about finding a guide? as google search?
    @10kman what would be the best way to find a fishing club?
    edited March 5 #5
    It depends on which part of the saltwater you want to fish -- offshore, inshore...up in Pasco, down in Tampa Bay, etc.

You might take a look at this forum (and old threads) for some ideas:  https://forums.floridasportsman.com/categories/west-central-general-fishing-the-outdoors

The forum you are in now is for all of Florida, the forum above is for the area you (and I) live in.

Facebook also has several local groups focused on saltwater fishing and hunting in the area.

Good luck...Mike
    thank you for your help @Tarponator
  • Jack HexterJack Hexter New Port RicheyPosts: 4,777 Moderator
    edited March 5 #7
    Here is the most active club in Pasco.  https://fishonclub.us/  Meets the Second Tuesday of each month  (3/10 is the next meeting) at the American Legion, 5329 Legion Pl, New Port Richey,    Meetings start at 7:00 but we gather and tell fish stories at 6:30 :)