Home South General Fishing & The Outdoors

need some help deep dropping first timer

reelthunderreelthunder port everglades Posts: 291 Deckhand
So wife bought me a tanacom 1000 for Christmas i have been wanting to start deep dropping to open up the dinner menu beyond the normal dolphin, wahoo, tuna and king fish choices that are presently on the menu I have never deep dropped before except for in the pacific for rock cod many years ago as a teen lots of reeling is what i remember . 1st what size braided line should i have put on that will work for the wide verity of fishing that is done deep dropping . 2nd how many weights should i purchase to start out 2lb 5 lb ??? 3rd rigs, hook sizes should they be circle hooks makes since to me but what do i know and last for now baits different fish different baits? I know their are a bunch of you deep droppers on this forum anything that you can help me with i would be very grateful for.  I have been fishing since i was 5 i am 55 years older now and i am fully aware that the wisdom of an experienced fisherman equals fish in the box and the avoidance of make stupid mistakes that can get costly...  

Replies

• CountryBumpkinCountryBumpkin Fla. Piney WoodsPosts: 1,892 Captain
    You can pick up some info here. A lot of the fish are more depth specific than location.
    So what people share from other locations will usually work at similar depths in your area if you fish same type bottom. Some species like mud or mud to sand edges or transitions. Others prefer some type of structure or hard bottom.

• plasteredplastered Posts: 636 Officer