New to Snook Beach Fishing

Flyguy66Flyguy66 Key LargoPosts: 17 Greenhorn
Hello, just joined the forum. 
I’m fairly new to Snook fishing but have done a lot of reading. I visit Key Largo quite often, especially in the summer.  I know that summer beach fishing June thru early August can be stellar for snook since that is when and where they spawn. What beaches should I try. Seems there are not many beaches in the keys. Would appreciate any info to get me on the right track. Thanks and Merry Christmas!

Replies

• ToeKneeToeKnee Orlando Posts: 14 Greenhorn
    Sorry to burst your bubble buddy but snook population in the keys is pretty low.
  • LostconchLostconch Posts: 546 Officer
    One of the reasons is snook like brackish water. The keys are too salty
  • lemaymiamilemaymiami Posts: 3,520 Captain
    Not a lot of snook (except around the bridges and in certain selected spots along shorelines down there ... but your real problem  - very, very few beaches - and only a very few provide public access (so you're really handicapped...). 

One alternative if you're on foot is to walk underneath any bridge that has pilings that you can cast to... All of the snook around bridge pilings will be right on the bottom next to whatever piling allows them to ambush bait, coming on the tide - but if you can cast far enough across and up-current then you might be able to work a bucktail jig (or a leadhead with a plastic or Gulp tail) slowly past where  one of those fish with that racing stripe might just eat it... Once you're hooked up everything will depend on whether you can get the fish away from his (or her) home next to those pilings...