VHF radio question

gotsnodooksgotsnodooks New Smyrna Beach FlPosts: 56 Greenhorn
I'm new to the salt water scene (I'll have a lot more questions so please be patient with me) and my neighbor told me that before going offshore I need to get a VHF radio.  I obviously see the need for it but I've been looking at different ones and am really at a loss of what I really need.  I've looked at both handheld models and mounted radios.  I'm thinking of getting the Cobra Mr Hh600 (handheld) but after reading reviews of everything I'm not really sure about what to get.  I don't see myself going very far out (10 maybe 15 miles at absolute most) but I just want to make sure I have a good radio in the (hopefully unlikely) event I need it.  Any recommendations? Is the one I'm looking at sufficient?  Thanks!! 

Replies

• polliwogpolliwog Posts: 262 Deckhand
    If you're out 15 miles you need a fix mounted radio with a relatively long antenna,  It;s all about the range. Over 10 miles is starting to stretch reception limits.  Most of the VHFs are pretty good, Standard Horizon is one I have used.
  • biglarbiglar Posts: 183 Deckhand
    polliwog said:
    If you're out 15 miles you need a fix mounted radio with a relatively long antenna,  It;s all about the range. Over 10 miles is starting to stretch reception limits.  Most of the VHFs are pretty good, Standard Horizon is one I have used.
    What he said.  Recently I was thinking about just that and did a bit of research on VHF antenna height vs. range and was shocked at how little real difference a 15 ft antenna made over an 8 ft one.  I think if you go more than about 10 miles or so, you'd want more options.
  • gandrfabgandrfab Posts: 20,965 AG
    VHF is a line of sight frequency. Antenna height helps with range.  

Gestapo 

• Tony RomaTony Roma Posts: 640 Officer