Winter Trout and Reds....Newbie here.

New to the Big Bend Winter fishing to Clarify..
Been fishing the 10 K for 40 years.
Winter we could catch Snook when their metabolism slowed down by soaking a FRESH dead Finger Mullet on the bottom in creek holes. They were too cold to chase lures...kinda like the Winter Trout up here.
I'm going to be fishing small Tidal creeks with Oyster Bars  , a good flow and holes 6  /8 ft' deep on a low tide.
I know the big rivers get hit hard but I'm Kayak and Jon Boat and know skinny water operations well.
Will this work / Tiger Minnows as a substitute ?
Will the Trout / Reds maybe Flounder stay in that shallow of water.
We're talking North of Keaton Beach , Yates Creek ramp area. Couple good wide creeks there...I'm 10 miles away all Winter long .
Killin and Grillin :grin

Replies

• Moon ShadowMoon Shadow Posts: 909 Officer
    I have good luck with trout in the winter time as do most people because the creeks are full of them.  To me the best spot is to fish is the mouth of a another tidal creek where the water is flowing out of the smaller creek. The trout are waiting for all the bait flowing out of the creek.  I like 1/4 oz jighead tip with a Pearl White Gulp and I just jig it back in like you would do in the gulf.  Cajon thunders work good to.   Other bait are Pearl White Gulp with chartreuse tails.  Trout love that yellow tails.  When the trout are running in the creeks you could catch them on shrimps, mullets cut bait and paddletail bait they love white if the water in clear.  The reds will hit on the same bait.  That are my favorite bait but others people will have their favorite 
  • xmuskyguidexmuskyguide Beautiful HomosassaPosts: 1,646 Captain
    I often fish a rod with live or cut bait while at the same fishing an artificial. Both work all year long.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  • surfmansurfman WC FLPosts: 5,981 Admiral