Compound Bow Fitting & general questions

hewes18hewes18 Posts: 757 Officer
Since it's not a firearm, I figured asking questions about my bow here would be appropriate. I have a Pearson Spoiler compound and needs to be restrung. It only has one cord on it, and it's heavy plastic (?) that doesn't stretch much or attach to the pulleys so I'm guessing there's some missing. I'm in St Lucie and was wondering if there was a place I could go, say Vero to Stuart and have it strung up and dialed in for me.

I am new to hunting in Florida, have only been in NJ and NY and that was 5 years ago and this is my first using a bow.

Also, I want to find some optics, what is effective and not too expensive? As for arrows, I plan on hunting deer and hog and want to invest in arrows and tips. Any to stay away from as far as brands or what to stockpile as for types of tips?

Any help is greatly appreciated :thumbsup
tumblr_lkaudd2RQQ1qg6fb5.gif

Replies

• wilburzwilburz Posts: 985 Officer
    go to www.archerytalk.com. you will find anything and everything you ever wanted to know about bow and arrow.

Happiness is a belt fed weapon!

• thinfisherthinfisher Posts: 326 Officer
    Welcome to the world of Bowhunting.....You need to see a local shop!! There are two near you in Melbourne 1) All About Archery (321) 622-6888 or 2) Action Gun & Archery (321) 622-6969

They should be able to get you set-up properly and provide the right advice on what gear you need. Stay away from mechanical broadheads when shooting hogs as you don't want to worry as to whether it will deploy or not.

My $0.02
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] Family, Friends and the Outdoors - Obama = PRICELESS
  • huntmstrhuntmstr Posts: 6,290 Admiral