Rigging for Inlets/Passes?

james 14james 14 Posts: 2,990 Moderator
Let's say I want to fish one of the inlets or passes along the beach. What would be some good ways to fish live bait? Would I hook a live pinfish, whitebait, etc on a fish finder rig and let it sit out near the bottom? Assuming the tide is running and the potential depth it doesn't seem that using a float or freelined bait would be the best choice unless I can see a pod of fish swimming through.

I'm still learning the salt. Appreciate the help.

Replies

• Rich MRich M Posts: 1,243 Officer
    edited July 10 #2
    I'd free-line a pinfish/croaker/mullet/sand perch/etc. with the hook just in the nose if fishing inlet.

Hook it in the tail if fishing along the beach.

Not a fan of anchoring baits to the bottom.
  • tankardtankard Posts: 6,820 Admiral
    Rich M said:
    I'd free-line a pinfish/croaker/mullet/sand perch/etc. with the hook just in the nose if fishing inlet.

Hook it in the tail if fishing along the beach.

Not a fan of anchoring baits to the bottom.

Yep. The current runs so fast that it's going to take a ton of weight, and if you do get it to stick, your bait will likely spin and twist collect weeds, or otherwise foul up.

Sorta like fishing bridges where the current cranks, cast upcurrent, let the bait pass by the structure or whatever, if no strike reel up and cast again. In my experience baits left out stationary in the current seldom get hit.

• james 14james 14 Posts: 2,990 Moderator
    So if you're fishing for something that sticks along the bottom? Especially if it's fairly deep such as a bridge fishing scenario you mentioned?
  • Rich MRich M Posts: 1,243 Officer
    There are 1,000 ways to do it "right" and few folks will agree on exactly how is best.  Thankfully, you can try as many techniques as you want until you find one that you like the best.