Kayak Fishing Tackle List

AO_REDAO_RED SarasotaPosts: 5 Greenhorn
Hey guys I'm new to FL and kayaking fishing.  I'm coming from the NE where I've been mainly fishing for Bass, Blues, Scup, Fluke and Bonita/Albies (all from shore/jetty's).  During the moving process I left a  lot of gear with my old man.  I'm looking to put together a list of must have tackle for getting into kayak fishing.  I'd like to focus on Red's, snook, snapper and maybe grouper (not sure if thats possible from a yak).  I'm located in the Sarasota area.  Any input is appreciated. 

Replies

• SpineymanSpineyman Posts: 8,033 Admiral
    edited July 10 #2
    You need a medium action rod, smallish reel , braided line if real small reel. Some top water lures, Johnson Sprites, Mirrolures, suspending lures and a few size jig heads and some soft plastics.
    Kayak Rookie...and loving it.
    Fishing beautiful Destin / Ft Walton Beach area!

II Chronicles 7:14
    if My people who are called by My name will humble themselves, and pray and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin and heal their land.

• dcrdcr Posts: 350 Deckhand
    edited July 9 #3
    10-15-20# braid, 20-25-30# flourocarbon, #1 - #1/0 circle hooks, #2 #3 split shot, popper float, 1/4, 3/8 oz jigs, Z-man paddletails, DOA shrimp, SPRO 3/8 oz white bucktail, Top Dog, Zara Spook, Hogy, 30-50SPF sunscreen, a floppy hat, knife to cut your way out of mangroves, at least $50 sunglasses, mine are bronze colored, sabikis, consider an inflatable PFD.

There's a lot of trout in Sarasota Bay.  Here's Little Sarasota Bay

edited July 10 #4
    Oh, search maybe in SW FL forum for Formerbluefishinny or bluefishinny, something like that, he's the resident Sarasota expert.  He's an on foot guy, but he has lots of tips for that area. And knows all the launch spots.
  • AO_REDAO_RED SarasotaPosts: 5 Greenhorn
    Sweet really appreciate the input!
    Spineyman said: